S. Mark Tyler and Jim Hauschild, founders of OEM Fabricators, Inc. Submitted photo
S. Mark Tyler and Jim Hauschild, founders of OEM Fabricators, Inc. Submitted photo

MADISON, WI – Twenty-eight Wisconsin manufacturers have been nominated for the 31st Annual Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year (MOTY) Awards. OEM Fabricators, Incorporated of Woodville, Wisconsin is one of the companies nominated for a MOTY.

The nominees showcase the strength and vibrancy of the manufacturing sector in our state that sustains high-wage, family-supporting careers. Manufacturing contributes $59 billion to the state’s economy – nearly 20 percent of the state’s Gross Domestic Product – and employs nearly 470,000 people in Wisconsin.

The MOTY program recognizes the state’s top manufacturers of all industries and sizes for their commitment to good business practices, innovative processes, and productivity enhancements to help drive Wisconsin’s economy. A total of four Grand Award winners will be chosen from categories based on company size.

The 31st Annual Manufacturer of the Year Award Nominees are: Apache Stainless Equipment Corporation – Beaver Dam, Artemax, Inc. – New Berlin, Briess Malt & Ingredients Co. – Chilton, Convenience Electronics, Inc. – McFarland, Empire Level, a division of Milwaukee Tool – Mukwonago, Empire Screen Printing, Inc. – Onalaska, Energy Bank Inc. – Manitowoc, Gamber-Johnson LLC – Stevens Point, J&R Machine Inc. – Shawano, Kenall Manufacturing – Kenosha, KHS USA, Inc. – Waukesha, Klement Sausage Company – Milwaukee, Freedom Graphic Systems, Inc. – Milton, MCL Industries, Inc. – Pulaski, Mercury Marine – Fond du Lac, Midwest Prototyping, LLC – Blue Mounds, Mitchell Metal Products – Merrill, Octopi Brewing – Waunakee, OEM Fabricators, Inc. – Woodville, Outlook Group LLC – Neenah, Pioneer Metal Finishing, LLC – Green Bay, Poblocki Sign Company LLC – Milwaukee, ProAmpac Holdings Inc. – Wrightstown, Robinson Metal, Inc. – De Pere, Sargento Foods Inc. – Plymouth, Terso Solutions Inc – Fitchburg, Vulcan Global Manufacturing Solutions, Inc. – Milwaukee, Winsert, Inc. – Marinette.

A total of four Grand Award winners will be selected - one for each of the following size categories.

MOTY Size Categories - Small (1-99 employees), Medium (100-299 employees), Large (300-799 employees), Mega (800+ employees).  

OEM is in the medium category. And was a Grand Award winner in 2006 and 2012.

Winners will be selected by an independent panel of judges from industry, government, education, and the business media, including past MOTY award winners (sponsoring organizations do not judge the applications).

The judges may also decide to honor a company with a Special Award for excelling in an outstanding area. There is not a separate application process for these special awards – all applications should be written seeking Grand Awards honoring overall Manufacturing Excellence. 

The judge’s decisions are final and they reserve the right to withhold an award in any category if there is not a suitable winning entry. 

The accounting and advisory firm of Baker Tilly Virchow Krause, LLP, the law firm of Michael Best & Friedrich LLP, and the state chamber of commerce, Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce, sponsor the annual MOTY awards program. The sponsors will celebrate the nominees and reveal the winners at a black-tie ceremony February 21, 2019, at the Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee.