Submitted by Sally Torgerson, FSA

BALDWIN, WI -- The St Croix County Committee election for LAA #3 is fast approaching.  LAA #3 includes the townships of Hammond, Baldwin, Springfield, Rush River, Pleasant Valley, Eau Galle and Cady.  County committee members are a critical component of Farm Service Agency (FSA) operations.  Ballots will be mailed to eligible voters on November 6, 2017.  Susan Gausman and Richard Koenig have been nominated and will be on the ballot.  Please vote for one of them or submit a write-in vote, but please vote!  Meet your candidates.

Susan Gausman is running for the FSA committee.  She has served three years as a minority advisor on the St Croix County Committee and five years as a member.  Susan has been dairy farming with her husband for over 41 years and hopes to transition the farm to the next generation.  She stated that “as a dairy producer I feel it’s important to have a dairy voice on the county committee.  In serving on the County Committee, I have always done my best to be fair and just to all, making decisions by following the rules and guidelines set by the Federal government using common sense and farming experience to make wise decisions.  I would appreciate your vote in November.”

Richard Koening was raised on his family’s farm in Northcentral Wisconsin where he experienced the many joys and challenges of living and working in agriculture.  As a youth he was involved with 4-H and FFA which furthered his interest and education in farming.  Richard stated, “For over a decade, I have operated my own small yet diversified livestock enterprise where I enjoy growing quality food for appreciative consumers.  I practice managed multi-species grazing and I am grateful for the assistance and expertise shared by the staff at the Baldwin Ag Center.  I would appreciate your vote in November.”