Judge Brian Hagedorn. Submitted photo
Judge Brian Hagedorn. Submitted photo

Compiled by Paul J. Seeling with Cari Cornelius, Gateway News

SPRING VALLEY, WI – According to the Wisconsin Elections Commission (WEC) very few problems were reported in the Tuesday, April 2, 2019 Spring Election in which more than 26 percent of Wisconsin adults voted, according to preliminary results analyzed by the WEC.

According to unofficial Election Night results, Brian Hagedorn lead Lisa Neubauer for Wisconsin Supreme Court Justice by 5,960 votes, or 0.49% of the 1,206,345 votes cast in the race.

A losing candidate may request a recount if the margin is 1% or less; however, the candidate must pay the cost of the recount if the margin is greater than 0.25%.  The last statewide recount, in 2016, cost slightly more than $2 million.

Wisconsin Chief Appeals Court Judge Lisa Neubauer announced on Wednesday, April 10, that she has conceded to opponent Brian Hagedorn in the race for Wisconsin Supreme Court, bringing the closest judicial race in recent memory to its conclusion. 

WEC staff has been working closely with county clerks and other local election officials as they canvass and certify the results. 

“While the potential for another statewide recount attracts much of the attention, local clerks and canvass boards will be completing the important and detailed work of certifying official election results,” said Meagan Wolfe, Wisconsin’s chief election official.

Here are some key dates in the certification/recount process: The deadline for county boards of canvassers to convene was 9 a.m. on Tuesday, April 9. The deadline for counties to complete their canvasses and report official results to the WEC is Friday, April 12. The deadline for a losing candidate to request a recount is three business days after the last county canvass is completed. Absent a recount, the Elections Commission has until May 15 to certify results of the Spring Election.

Strong Turnout Statewide, Few Problems
“Even though we had the second-highest turnout in a non-partisan election since 2000, the Elections Commission received very few complaints about problems at polling places,” said Wolfe. 

Based on unofficial results, turnout was 26.8 percent of the state’s voting-age population of 4,498,576 residents. That is higher than average for similar Supreme Court elections since the year 2000.  

Here are the unofficial results:  Justice of the Supreme Court: Lisa Neubauer- 599,678 (49.75) - Brian Hagedorn- 605, 728 (50.25).

Village President of Baldwin: Willy Zevenbergen - 289 (96.98). Village President of Hammond: Tony Bibeau - 166 (54.79). Village President of Wilson: Michelle Nelson- 33 (71.74). Village President of Woodville: Steve A. Gossel - 130 (98.48). Village President of Spring Valley - Marsha Brunkhorst – 331.

Spring Valley Village Board Trustees: Dominic Falde- 272, Mary M Ducklow- 311, Andrew Vorlicek - 295, Anthony Vodnik - 52 (registered write-in).

Baldwin-Woodville School District - Denise Monicken - 915 (81.70), write-in 205 (18.30). Spring Valley School Board (results combined from Pierce and St. Croix Counties) vote for 2:  Allan Faber - 306, April Robelia - 474, Guy Leach – 400. Elmwood School Board – vote for 2: Sandra Weix – 221, Adam Carson – 195, Andrew A. Zierl – 129.

Spring Valley School District Referendum (to build a new elementary school on the Middle/High School campus) – Yes – 722, No – 528.

Town of Gilman Town Chair - Phil Verges - 279, Supervisors (two seats) Bill Emerson - 266, Mike Traynor - 272, Clerk - Becky Manley – 276, Treasurer, Luann Emerson – 274.