Zach Boisen. Photo by Jon Tanberg
Zach Boisen. Photo by Jon Tanberg

SPRING VALLEY, WI - The voting for the Dunn-St. Croix All-Conference teams was held recently, and despite the fact that the Cardinals didn’t take first place in the conference, they had more players on the All-Conference teams than any other team in the conference.

The Cardinals placed all five starters on the various teams because of their unselfish play and team first attitude this season.

That started with the seniors, Sean Borgerding, Zach Boisen and Patrick Cipriano, and Bosshart was quick to point out that the success of the team, and the program, rests with their play.

Their unselfishness is what made our team so balanced and allowed us to enjoy the success that we did this year,” said Head Coach Rob Bosshart. “ It may have cost each of them a bit of a decrease in individual statistics so I am grateful that our conference coaches understood this and recognized them for the quality players that they are.”

Sean Borgerding was a first team selection as he finished second in the conference in scoring with an average of 16 points per game in conference games. The senior was the emotional leader of the Cardinals. He was just short of averaging a double-double as he pulled down 9.7 rebounds per game in conference play as well, good for fourth in the conference. He had an average of 2.2 steals per game as well as 2.2 assists per game as well.

“This was the first year in his four years playing for us that he was able to play his natural position,” Bosshart said. “He didn’t have to try to do everything this year and that was a big difference for him, and us as a team.”

Borgerding also finished his career with over 1,000 points for the Cardinals, just the seventh player in the history of the program to accomplish that feat. Borgerding was a first team selection last year as a junior and an honorable mention pick as a sophomore.

Seniors Zach Boisen and Patrick Cipriano earned second team honors this season as both earned honorable mention last year as juniors.

Boisen finished the season with a scoring average of 10.6 points per game, leading the team in three pointers making 53 of 143 shots from behind the arc (.371 percentage). He also finished his high school career with over 500 points.

Cipriano completed his career with over 500 points as well, averaging 9.9 points per game on the season. He was second on the team in rebounds with an average of 5.7 per game. He also averaged just under two steals per game and led the team in blocked shots and dunks on the season. He was also third on the team in three-pointers, making 21-of-67 shots from behind the arc.

I am very happy that Sean, Zach and Patrick received post-season recognition because they have worked extremely hard to get to the level that they played at this year,” Bosshart said. “They've been instrumental in re-establishing a culture of hard work and commitment to our program.”

Also earning second team honors was sophomore Dylan Bossart. Bosshart was fourth on the team in scoring at a rate of nine points per game, but that could have been higher as the sophomore was out sick for a few games in January and struggled to regain his scoring touch after that. Bosshart was second on the team in triples, making 28-of-77 shots from three point range.

Bosshart often had the task of guarding the best perimeter players from the opposing team in most games, often shutting down the shooters to well below their average.

Aaron Borgerding earned honorable mention honors as a freshman point guard in his first varsity campaign. The guard certainly didn’t play like a freshman, as he averaged a league leading 4.5 assists per game. He averaged 7.1 points per game.

“Dylan and Aaron certainly earned their recognition as well,” said Bosshart. “One of the differences in our team this year was the play of our backcourt and these two were primarily responsible for that.”

Bosshart was quick to point out the poise both players had in some tough games.

“A lot of pressure was put on them to handle the ball against pressure and still contribute on both ends of the court and they both were outstanding in doing so,” the coach said. “We feel very good about having these two back and watching them continue to grow.”

Congratulations on a great season to all players on the team.

The complete All-Conference teams are below.

2016-17 D-SC All Conference Boys Basketball Teams


NAME                                      SCHOOL                     GRADE

Reid Hansen                            Durand                        12

Dane Lew                               Elk Mound                    12

Ben Lambele                           Elk Mound                    11

Riley Schutz                            Glenwood City                        11

Avery Hoepner                                   Mondovi           10

Luke Baier                               Plum City/Elmwood      11

Sean Borgerding                     Spring Valley               12


Luke Knudtson                                    Boyceville        11

Jacob Larson                          Colfax                          12

George Scharlau                     Colfax                          10

Bret Schlosser                                    Durand                        12

Branden Becker                      Mondovi                       12

Zach Boisen                            Spring Valley               12

Patrick Cipriano                       Spring Valley               12

Dylan Bosshart                       Spring Valley               10


Dillon Hierlmeier                       Glenwood City                        10

Aaron Borgerding                   Spring Valley               9


Dane Lew                               Elk Mound                    12