BWHS senior Zach Walker is a Kohl Excellence Scholarship winner. Submitted photo
BWHS senior Zach Walker is a Kohl Excellence Scholarship winner. Submitted photo

Submitted by Kim Marggraf, Herb Kohl Foundation

MILWAUKEE, WI — The selection committee for the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Scholarship, Fellowship, and Leadership Program has announced recipients of the 2017 Herb Kohl Foundation awards for students, teachers, and principals.

Baldwin-Woodville High School seniors Zach Walker and Nicole Weninger have received Kohl Scholarships. Walker is the 3rd B-W Kohl Excellence Scholarship winner in the history of the Kohl Excellence Scholarships and Nicole Weninger is the 4th B-W student selected for the Kohl Initiative Scholarship.

Awards in the amount of $3,000 are being made to 100 teachers, 16 principals, and their schools, and $5,000 scholarships will be given to 207 graduating high school students. Excellence Scholarship recipients have demonstrated excellence in the academic arena and high motivation to achieve, have displayed a broad range of activity and leadership outside the academic setting, and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond. Fellowship recipients are educators who have been chosen for their superior ability to inspire a love of learning in their students, their ability to motivate others, and their leadership and service within and outside the classroom.

Leadership Award recipients are school principals who are being recognized for setting high standards for instruction, achievement and character, and creating a climate to best serve students, families, staff, and community. Excellence Scholarship, Fellowship and Leadership Award recipients are selected by a statewide committee composed of civic leaders, representatives of education-related associations, and the program’s co-sponsors: the Wisconsin Newspaper Association Foundation, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools (WCRIS), regional Cooperative Educational Service Agencies (CESA), and the Association of Wisconsin School Administrators.

Initiative Scholarship recipients, chosen by their schools, have demonstrated exceptional initiative in the classroom and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond, but have not yet received other academic-based scholarships. “I think it is significant that Wisconsin’s students, teachers, principals, and schools are recognized for their devotion to education and learning,” said Michael Lancaster, WCRIS board president.

The Kohl Foundation Scholarship and Fellowship program was established by Herb Kohl, philanthropist and businessman, in 1990. To date the foundation has awarded $11.5 million to Wisconsin educators, principals, students, and schools. “Education is the key to the future of Wisconsin and our nation. I am very proud of the accomplishments of these students, teachers, and principals and look forward to the great contributions they will make in the future,” Kohl said.

Letters notifying recipients of the award were mailed by the Herb Kohl Foundation on March 11, 2017. Regional recognition luncheons honoring the recipients will be held in a few weeks. Following is the list of recognition luncheon dates and locations as well as the list of recipients. Herb Kohl will attend all luncheons and present awards to recipients.

The CESA 4, 10, 11, 12 2017 Student, Teacher, and Principal Recognition luncheon will be held on Sunday, April 30 North High School North Central at 1801 Piedmont Road & Northwest, Eau Claire 54703.