Schumacher, and Stone make Honor List
Minnesota State Mankato announces 2016 Fall Semester Dean's List
Submitted by Dan Benson, Minnesota State University, Mankato

MANKATO, MN – The Academic High Honor and Honor lists (Dean's lists) for the past fall semester at Minnesota State University, Mankato have been announced by Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs Marilyn Wells. Seniors Craig Schumacher and Kayla Stone, of Baldwin have been named to the Honor List.

2,470 students earned a 3.5 to 3.99 average to qualify for the Honor List.

Minnesota State Mankato, a comprehensive university with 15,110 students, is part of the Minnesota State system, which comprises 31 state institutions.

Dix, Groth, and Schmidt-Landin, on Dean's Honor List
UW-Madison announces Fall Dean's List
Submitted Link News

MADISON, WI - The University of Wisconsin-Madison has recognized students named to the Dean's List for the fall semester of the 2016-2017 academic year.  Rebekah Dix, College of Letters and Science, Benjamin Groth, College of Letters and Science, and Melissa Schmidt-Landin, College of Engineering, are on Dean's Honor List.

Students who achieve at a high level academically are recognized by the dean at the close of each semester. To be eligible for the Dean's List, students must complete a minimum of 12 graded degree credits in that semester.

Students receive Chancellor's Award for fall term at Stout
Submitted by Pam Braun, University Communications

MENOMONIE, WI -- The following students from the area have received the University of Wisconsin-Stout Chancellor's Award for the fall 2016 semester.

They are from Baldwin: Heather Bol, B.S. business administration, Katelyn Dobson, B.S. family and consumer sciences education, Erick Forsberg, B.S. business administration, Randi Hoyt, B.F.A. entertainment design, B.F.A. studio art, Shannon Hoyt, B.S. professional communication and emerging media, Brodie Newton, B.S. packaging, Troy Rudesill, B.S. criminal justice and rehabilitation and Travis Shackleton, B.S. construction. From Woodville the students are:  Alec Robole, B.S. computer engineering, Vanessa Tomberlin, B.S. real estate property management and Shelby Weiske, B.S. special education.

The award is presented to students who have a grade point average of 3.5 or above.

UW-Stout, Wisconsin's Polytechnic University, has 48 undergraduate majors and 23 graduate programs, including one doctoral degree.

Abigail Hanson named to Dean's List at Bethel University
Submitted by Office of Marketing and Communications

ST.PAUL, MN -- Abigail Hanson, a freshman at Bethel University in St. Paul, Minnesota, has been named to the Dean's List for academic excellence for the fall 2016 semester. She is the daughter of John and Julie Hanson from Baldwin, Wisconsin.

The Dean's List honors students who achieve an outstanding scholastic record during a semester with a grade point average of 3.6 or greater.

Melander qualified for Chancellor’s Award
Pam Braun, University Communications

MENOMONIE, WI -- Gunther Melander, in the study of applied social science from Wilson, Wisconsin has qualified to receive the Chancellor’s Award for the spring 2016 semester.

The award is presented to students who have a grade point average of 3.5 or above.

UW-Stevens Point winter graduates 2016 include Jansma and Soergel
Submitted by Carrie Heibler, University Relations and Communications

STEVENS POINT, WI -- The University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point conferred degrees on more than 600 graduates during the university's winter commencement ceremonies on Dec. 17, 2016.

Among those conferred were Terra L Jansma, Bachelor of Music, Music-Percussion and Johnathon D Soergel, Bachelor of Science, Wildlife Ecology-Research And Mgmt.

Graduates, their guests and faculty members were addressed by Beloit alumna Barbara Hickman, a 1960 graduate who spent more than 50 years of her career in education. Chancellor Bernie Patterson welcomed the participants and Provost and Vice Chancellor Greg Summers recognized honor students and award winners.

Tanya Lafavor graduates from The College of St. Scholastica
Submitted by Robert Ashenmacher, The College of St. Scholastica

DULUTH, MN -- Tanya Lafavor of Baldwin, WI graduated from The College of St. Scholastica with a Master of Science in Occupational Therapy.

The College held its fall 2016 commencement ceremony Dec. 17 in the Reif Gymnasium on campus.

The College of St. Scholastica is nationally recognized for quality. The America's Best Colleges rankings by U.S. News & World Report classify it as one of the Midwest's top regional universities. Learn more at

Liston graduates from UW-La Crosse
UW-La Crosse announces December 2016 graduates
Submitted by University of Wisconsin-La Crosse

LA CROSSE, WI -- The following students completed degree requirements at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse in December. Gabrielle Liston, of Baldwin, Wisconsin received a Bachelor of Science degree.

The 52nd annual Midyear Commencement was held at the La Crosse Center Sunday, Dec. 18, 2016. UW-La Crosse, founded in 1909, is one of the 13 four-year institutions in the University of Wisconsin System. UW-La Crosse -